The Bavarian State Ministry for Education and Culture, Science and Art announced today that Alexander Liebreich will be honored with this year’s special award of the Culture Prize of Bavaria. Art Minister Dr. Ludwig Spaenle will present the award to the native Regensburger during a ceremony on Thursday, October 27, 2016 in Amberg.

Since 2005, Bayernwerk AG has been awarding the Bavarian Culture Prize for achievements in art and science. The prize is awarded to artists in Bavaria for their significant work as well as graduates and postgraduate students from Bavarian universities, universities of applied sciences and state art colleges. The Bavarian Ministry of Art also awards a special prize. Past winners include Bruno Jonas, Gerhard Polt, Frank Markus Barwasser, Dieter Dorn and Franz Xaver Bogner.

The full press release can be found here.